At the End of the Work Day (Daily Prompt: Pungent)

I collapse

Into the comforting embrace

Of one so cherished

One who is there

To greet me after every

Back-breaking day.

One who doesn’t flee

At the pungent smell of my feet

When my socks are whipped off

My feet, now breathe.

One who allows me

To lay back and relax

And have a moment

In the silence, collecting myself.

I don’t mind the slight groan

When I move within their arms

For it is a sound made

From a decade of love

A decade of sitting

In that same spot.

 

~ Greywatcher

 

via Daily Prompt: Pungent

Leave a Reply

