They Burnt the Bridge.

My heart breaks
As I watch the bridge burn
Heated flames
Lick wounds, still raw.
I watch you
Bitterness on your face
As you feed the last drop
Of gasoline
To the flames.
If you had asked forgiveness
I would have given it
Offer me an apology
And I would accept it
Yet you burned it all to the ground
Then you went through my world
And tore it all down.
I stood back
Watching you
With conflicted emotions
As you pulled my world apart
Your shame had turned to anger
Anger you expressed with rage.
Tears fell as I watched people believe
All your lies and games.
The bridge is gone
I will not rebuild it
Those who wish to cross it
Will have to swim
And earn their forgiveness.

~ Greywatcher

Leave a Reply

