The Many Lessons From Friends.

There was a friend
Who meant the world to me
They taught me
To open my eyes
And question what people say.

There was a friend
Who sat atop a pedestal
They taught me
To not sacrifice my own values
Just to make a person happy.

There was a friend
Who spread lies about me
They taught me
That my true friends
Are those who stand by me.

There was a friend
Who heard gossip about me
They taught me
That true friends
Seek the truth about me.

There was a friend
Who always talked to me
They taught me
That friends who know me
Are those who hold authentic conversations.

Throughout life
Friends come and go
Teaching lessons of
Love and hate.

Some can lift you up
To heights you had only dreamed of
And ask for nothing in return.
While others can deceive
Manipulate and betray
Causing unbearable hurt.

A hard lesson to learn
From those who cause scars so deep
Is to be mindful
Yet forgiving
So you can live free
From such pain.

~ Greywatcher

Leave a Reply

