By the Yule Tree.

The fire burns brightly
On this cold winters night.
Outside snow flutters
Inside I sit still in silence.
My chair embraces me
As I watch the Yule tree
Its lights twinkling
The tinsel shimmering
As the memories dance
In the reflection of the deep red baubles.
I remember your faces
So clearly, as though you were before me
And recall the stories you used to tell.
A creak in the floor boards
Shatters the silence
My time in reflection
Has ended but then
I see their small faces peeking
As they wait for permission
To join me around the fire
Watching the Yule tree.
I beacon them forth
With a wave of my hand
And ask them to sit
As I recall your old stories
That you used to share.

~ Greywatcher

Leave a Reply

