Finding Solace

Each morning that I wake
My hand reaches out
Hoping to grasp what is gone
With realisation
My heart breaks.

As my mind wakes I remember
The reason you are not here
I close my eyes and struggle
With grief
As depression sinks in.

I roll over, eyes closed tight
I can almost see you in my mind
But your voice I struggle to conjure
With frustration
I give in.

On my shoulder I feel a hand
Their gentle shake stirring me
A voice soothing, urging me forward
With sorrow
I find solace in you.

~ Greywatcher

Leave a Reply

