Lift Me Free.

Lift me up so I can see
Beyond the horizon that restrains me.
This world is not plentiful
Time here is given and taken, stolen and lost
My actions a ripple that’s crashes into another’s world
Often felt, often ignored.
Poverty a shackle given at birth
Rusted from generations before
Anchors me to the world I’m in.
Many voices begin to repeat
Telling me I have the key
Yet in my hands in slips
As I find it a struggle to grasp my freedom
It as though the key is an illusion
That working hard to undo the lock
Will be to another’s benefit
As I remain here shackled, never free.

 

~ Greywatcher

Leave a Reply

