A Usual Summer Read.

Beneath the pages I slip into a slumber
Lulled into the darkness by the warmth of summer.
In that moment I am drifting
Through scenes I had read
Played out by characters words had created
And given substance to be bought to life in my head.
I linger somewhere in the between
Hearing life in the world continue around me.
The steady waves of the sea crashing
And the laughter of family and friends close by
I feel blessed at the peace I am given
To fall asleep under a book
And be left to my daydream.

~ Greywatcher

Leave a Reply

