Goodbye My Four-legged Friend.

Into the ground we placed you
Sorrow weighing heavily on our hearts
Sobs choked by rushing tears
For a loyal friend.

For fifteen years you were committed
Waiting at the bus stop to walk me home.
In those years you never judged me
For the phases I went through
The different identity’s I wore.

For fifteen years your eyes expressed love
As you saw me for the person I truly was.
You protected me where you could
From bad decisions and threats.
You helped me find happiness
In the moments of crushing darkness.

The dirt was thrown
The final goodbye has been said.
I hold your collar, the final reminder
That you are no longer here.

~ Greywatcher

* Please feel free to follow my blog and read my other work.

Leave a Reply

